Lutheran Concision

Martin Luther, the great reformer, is known for his humour and also his direct speaking. You know where you are with Luther. He’d have made a very poor Anglican!

Following the General Synod last week I have just been sent this quotation from him. The language is a bit strong for some, but nonetheless challenging:

If any person dares to say that the church changes or does not keep Christ’s words and ordinance, then that person is also calling the holy church a renegade whore of the devil.

qui legit intellegat (let the reader understand)

2 thoughts on “Lutheran Concision”

  1. Very true, though you’ve thrown me there with that bit of Latin which I guess is about Mark 13:14, but I’d have thought it would be “intelligat lector”, and Jerome has “qui legit, intelligat”. I’ll ask Daniel šŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a comment